Congratulations to Dr. Ardalan on Receiving book Award

Congratulations to Dr. Christine Ardalan on being the recipient of the Florida Historical Society’s Harry T. and Harriette V. Moore award for her book “Public Health Nursing in Jim Crow Florida.” This is a major accomplishment. Click to see the article

Dr. Premo co-ordinates Legal History Blog

Updated: 0204/2020 – added Lo Extrajudicial, Premo, and Paperless Citizenship in Cuba, Premo with J. Ermer to the blog list Dr. Bianca Premo is the guest Blogger for the Legal History Blog for the month of January. She is responsible for seven separate blogs in a series entitled ‘Paperless Law and Extrajudicial Legality’. Two of the blogs […]

Dr. Rodriguez-Galindo wins the APS Publication Grant

Congratulating to Adjunct Instructor Dr. Vanesa Rodriguez-Galindo on being awarded the Association of Public Scholars’ 2019 Publication Grant for her forthcoming book “Madrid on the Move: Feeling Modern and Visually Aware in the Nineteenth Century.” Click to see article

Dr. Capo Jr. selected as OAH Lecturer

The Organization of American Historians (OAH) has selected Dr. Julio Capo as one of 21 new speakers for its Distinguished Lecturer Program.

Faculty-curated Exhibition Wins Award

The Florida Association of Museums has awarded the exhibition “Queer Miami: A History of LGBTQ Communities” curated by Dr. Julio Capo Jr. at History Miami Museum its 2019 Museum Excellence Award. Congratulations to Dr. Capo Jr.!

FIU Team win Poster Award

Congratulations to Dr. Kenneth Lipartito and his team made up of undergraduate students Christopher Jorge and Mun Bong Choi (Florida International University) and FIU Doctoral Student/MDC Instructor Jairo Ledesma, and students Luis Coello and Jose Duque, Jr. (Miami Dade College) for winning the Douglas Astolfi Award from the Florida Conference of Historians for the best […]

Dr. Mas receives highest accolade from Yale

Dr. Catherine Mas‘ dissertation “The Culture Brokers: Medicine and Anthropology in Global Miami, 1960- 1995,” was not only approved unanimously with distinction during spring 2019, but also received three separate awards from Yale University. The George Washington Egleston Historical Prize and the Edwin W. Small Prize from the History Department (both in the field of American history); and […]

Dr. Jones secures Fulbright Fellowship

Congratulations to Department of History-AADS Associate Professor Hilary Jones on receiving a * U.S. Scholar Fulbright Award * for the Africa Regional Research Program in Senegal. The award will allow her to conduct fieldwork in Senegal for her book manuscript, “From Senegal to the French Antilles: West Africa and the Making of the French Atlantic World.” While on the Fulbright, she […]

Dr. Kenneth Lipatito secures International grant

Congratulations to Dr. Lipartito on his receipt of a grant from CIFAR, a Canadian NGO. This award is worth $22,000 per year for 5 years to each primary researcher and is intended to stimulate international and interdisciplinary research into socially equitable innovation.

Dr. Bianca Premo receives LASA Book Prize

Congratulations to Dr. Premo on the receipt of the 2019 Book Prize in Colonial Latin American Studies by the Latin American Studies Association’s section on colonial studies for her 2017 work “The Enlightenment on Trial”. Click to see the article